LA – where you spend most of your time in the car.

While only living in LA for just over a week now, I have yet to drive. I prefer to be the passenger when it comes to a lot of traffic, so I let Mat handle the craziness. However, I have to go into Culver City tonight while Mat is still working in Santa Monica — meaning I had to drive him in this morning…what an adventure! I probably yelled at him several times in terms of giving me more specific directions (i.e.: which lane should I be in, what do I do next, how long am I on this road for, etc.) – I get paranoid easily with traffic! After dropping him off, I relied on our TomTom to get me home, thank goodness for him!
There is one funny thing about LA driving thought: It can take you either 15 minutes to get to your destination, or it can take you well over an hour depending on the traffic…which you generally ALWAYS hit at one time or another when in transit. So by the time I got home it was lunchtime, and I was FAMISHED!!! I headed straight to the veggies, because it can be quite easy to indulge on anything sweet in front of me when I am that hungry — its a fantastic skill to learn, because veggies help fill you up. So I made a loaded simple salad with spinach, carrots, peppers, mushrooms, asparagus, and grapes. Then I used a sandwich flat to make a grilled PBJ.

It was so satisfying!

Next up to kill some time, I decided to make dinner to eat later since I had to be in Culver City at 7…which is when I normally eat dinner. So to be on the safe side, I figured I would prepare sometime to eat on the way, or in the parking lot if I got there early enough 🙂 For dinner I tossed an assortment of veggies in my skillet (similar to what was in my salad) and let them steam up a little.

veggies of choice 🙂

Then I added in some lemon juice and quinoa….

mmmmmm...can I just have dinner early? 🙂

Mmmmm, can I just have dinner early?? 🙂
Anywho, it’s time for me to brave the LA traffic yet again…here goes nothing!

Tell me whatcha think!

