Fit & Fresh Fiesta Fajitas!

Now say that 10 times fast 😉
If only  Mat and I didn’t have a run planned this evening, we could have enjoyed a nice frosty beer to go with our Mexican Fiesta Fajitas! I think this was actually the first time that Mat and I made a full meal together too. We were joking the other day how we probably could never make a meal together because we would get completely aggravated with one another….and I’m a total control freak so I would eventually just kick him out of the kitchen anyways haha. But we proved ourselves wrong, and found out that we actually CAN get along, and make a mean-good meal!

If only there was a nice cold Pacifico sitting next to this plate!

While this might look like a lot of preparation, we took the easy route.

Rice:
Uncle Ben’s 90-second microwave rice, topped with Pace’s Chunky salsa.

Fajita:

  • Frozen bell pepper mix from Trader Joe’s
  • 1/2 Yellow Onion (left over from last night)
  • Zucchini, sliced
  •  Jalapeno, sliced
  • Extra Lean Beef cuts from Trader Joe’s (I splurged a little for the quality)

We tossed those bad boys in the skillet, sprinkled some chili powder over the mixture for an extra kick, and poured it over a whole grain flour tortilla (also compliments of Trader Joe’s).

While dinner was incredible, Mat adn I still had a 20 min run which I committed to…and had to fit into my day. We got through it alright, but I think we may have left a little too soon after dinner…if ya know what I mean! (I had a few tasty burps come through while in transit).

Since we have had frozen yogurt the past few days, I thought it would be a good idea to make our own little parfaits; a great post-workout treat! Mat chose to be traditional with fruit and yogurt (flavored – strawberry pomegranate, YUM!); I on the other-hand, tried to go outside my boundaries and try out cottage cheese. Cottage cheese has always given me the heebie-geebies, but I know how healthy it is, not to mention how high in protein and low in sugar it is.

who knew dessert could be so healthy?!?

I was a little partial to the cottage cheese alone, it is something I can get used to, but the juices from the cut up berries made it 10 times better! Not too shabby!

Well its about bed time over here on the West Coast, and a full work-week ahead (which I can’t tell you how nervous I am!)

Before I sign off…I have a CHALLENGE for you all: Choose one thing in your daily diet this week, and replace it with a healthier option. This can be as simple as going from 2% to 1% milk, or something bigger such as ditching the fast food for a fully made from scratch meal! The severity of the swap is completely up to you – but I pose this challenge to you for the week. Best of luck!!

Tell me whatcha think!

