Sunday Fun-day!

For those of you who know L.A., you know that there is always that funky overcast due to the heavy volume of commuters; especially in the morning. Well, this morning  it was surprisingly clear and sunny! Mat and I decided to bring our breakfast outside – mine consisted of:

  •  Rolled Oats
  • A little bit of Fiber One Cereal mixed in
  • Vanilla Whey Protein
  • Cinnamon
  • Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • Boiling water
  • Side of berries

I wish I had taken a picture of it for you all, but this is definitely one of my top oatmeal recipes – it tasted like a yummy graham cracker…without all the excess sugar! After dining in the sunshine on our mini patio, we get ready for our Sunday hike. We had planned to try out a different canyon, but we ended up right back at the Runyon Canyons; just a different side. The trail we did today was pretty tough, but nowhere near as strenuous as last weekends! None the less it was a great leisure morning work-out! It is surprising how hiking can really get your heart thumping…or maybe it was just the adrenaline of being so high above the city that gets it racing!
Afterwards we came home to make some lunch  to take along on a picnic since it had been so lovely outside. I decided to make my “hands-down best tuna salad sandwich” as I like to call it 🙂 And it is incredibly easy – like the majority of my recipes:

Not your mamma's tuna salad!

All you need is:

  • 4 oz Tuna (I just used the canned tuna…it makes life easier)
  • 1-2 tbsp Hummus (I used roasted red pepper, but the flavor can vary)
  • Chopped bell pepper chunks
  • Chopped celery bits

From  here you just mash it all up and smear it over your bread of choice. I use Ezekial 4:9 bread, which is VERY dense (so I would recommend the extra hummus), and add in a little lettuce…and voila:

perfect picnic tag-along 🙂

This tasty sandwich is accompanied by a nice big helping of assorted bell peppers, carrots and more hummus –yes, I shared a little with Mat; I figure I ought to be generous every now and then!

We spent the rest of the day shopping around to get a few bargains on athletic apparel, and a quick stop over to Trader Joe’s to pick up a heaping of granola / snack bars, since we have found ourselves always running around and in need of a healthy treat. Of course, I spent an extra 10 minutes than the average person picking mine out; making sure there is an even balance of nutrients and low sugar content. I ended up with:

  • Organic ZBar – Honey Graham…my favorite!
  • Power Crunch Energy Bar – vanilla
  • Luna, Toasted Nuts n’ Cranberry
  • Lara Bar- Apple Pie
  • Bora Bora Energy (oatmeal and nuts)

These make for great mid-day snacks, or for just after your workout to replenish your body. And they are absolutely delicious!

We also grabbed a few items for our Fajitia night tonight! We will see how this turns out 🙂

Tell me whatcha think!

