Peanut Butter Jelly Time…REMIX!

My all-time favorite sandwich always has and always will be a good old fashioned PBJ! I could eat those bad boys every day – in fact I just about do because they are so quick, easy, and do not spoil as easily as a turkey sandwich; so they are so great for taking for work!
The other day I thought about how cool it would be to mix things up a little bit and see how adding apple slices and cinnamon into my classic PBJ might turn out. Now I have added regular apple slices before, and it tasted quite good – but since I use apples and cinnamon in my oatmeal, I figured ‘hey I wonder how apples and cinnamon might taste in my PBJ?!’ Well I will tell you how it tastes….

…like a sinfully delicious sandwich!
The cinnomon mixed with the peanut butter creates such a sweet sensation, it tastes as if I am eating dessert! Here we just have a general natural peanut butter topped with apple slices and ground cinnamon on one side. On then the other side, I used a few more apple slices to cover up the holes on the top of my deli flat so that the mixture wouldn’t ooze out.
Here you have it: a classic sandwich that will never go out of style, slightly remixed; which I am current;y enjoying right now with a bag full of carrots and edamame on my lunch break 🙂

Have you revamped any of your favorite classic foods? I would love to hear about it!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Jelly Time…REMIX!

  1. Mmmm sounds good! But I bet you could ratch it up a bit by adding a sprinkling of oats and/or banana slices for that little extra bit of something extra

    Max

  2. Yes! I have put oats in it before, it is quite delicious. I haven’t tried it with bananas, but it reminds me of an Elvis style PBJ (he sure loved his peanut butter and bananas!!

  3. I am always working on ways to revamp mac and cheese. When im feeling sassy I add tomatoes and chiles, when im feeling healthy I cut back on cheese and add puree veggies (squash and carrots usually). Im thinking I will never grow out of mac and cheese so Im always trying to bring it up to my age!

  4. Delicious!!! I used to add broccoli and jalapenos..but I never thought to add puree squash to replace part of the cheese! I cannot wait to try that out, thanks so much for the idea!!! 🙂

Tell me whatcha think!

