A New String of “Spaghetti”

Have you tried this week’s challenge yet?? I am pleased to say that this past Sunday I tried it out, and was definitely not disappointed. I tried spaghetti squash for the first time, and I have had it for the past few nights!
Let me tell you…not only is this veggie super cool, but there is SO much jam-packed in it!!

look at all that "spaghetti"!!!

To prepare:

Preheat the oven to 350 – degrees
Slice in half
Scoop out all the seeds (they look like pumpkin seeds)
Place cut-side down into a pan with about 1/2-1 cup water on the bottom to allow for the squash to steam.
Cook for 45 minutes
Carefully scoop out all the strands with a fork, and it comes out super stringy just like spaghetti!

I made up my own little prima vera sauce with two large tomatoes, sliced and diced, red swiss chard, baby kale (so cute!), lemon basil, and tons of random peppers that we got at the farmer’s market.
-Two other new produce items I tried out this week from the farmer’s market were Italian curly peppers, very mild…and Thai chili peppers (VERY hot!)-
I mixed in some edamame to add in a protein source – you should always add in some kind of protein source into your meals to help maintain muscle tone, as well as to keep you full and satisfied.

Completely fresh and made from scratch 🙂

I have had this the past two nights too with all the left overs I had of the squash itself.
Fortunately I was able to come home nice and early from work – and I tell ya, as early as I got home (2pm woohoo!) I was exhausted. I sat like a slug for about 2 hours, when I decided to get off my lazy butt and go for a jog to the Sherman Oaks Farmers Market which is held on Tuesdays from 1-6pm (I know, such an odd time…) I was really excited to finally get my tired legs on over there to check it our and get some fresh produce to put in tonight’s primavera. Lets just say, I will never bother going back…there were hardly any stands; not to mention, they were quite over priced. disappointing…I figured I ought to get something so I got a few $1 bags of zucchini and decently priced asparagus and headed on home to finish up my squash!

Tonight’s featured a variety of peppers, some jarred pasta sauce (Classico’s Roasted Red Pepper Sauce) a few red swiss chard, asparagus, baby kale, lemon basil, some onions, red cabbage,  zucchini, and yellow squash. I mixed in the left over “saghetti” and tossed in a bunch of thawed scallops:

OH DE-LISHHHHHH!!!! I tell ya, lemon basil is seriously the secret ingredient to just about any fabulous meal lately (or at least that is my opinion).

I hope you all get to trying a new healthy food sometime this week!! You may surprise yourself and have a new favorite food / meal. Not to mention, it is always a good idea to try out new things.

Have a fantastic rest of the week! Only a few more days until the weekend!
And a special shout out to my beautiful mother, who’s birthday is tomorrow 🙂 I love you mom!

One thought on “A New String of “Spaghetti”

  1. Pingback: Cheviche with an Asian Twist « Nutritious Nibbles

Tell me whatcha think!

