Sunny Sunday Run

This morning began with a run – 2.2 miles in 20 minutes (meh.) I have not done too much in terms of cardio lately, and my goal is to get back into running.  First step of motivation: signing up for a 5k! I plan to run the 13th Annual 5k Run for Awareness & Hope to benefit Ovarian Cancer, put together by the Ovarian Cancer Coalition of Greater California. Unfortunately I only have TWO weeks to increase my speed and distance back to where I was about 5 months ago:

My first 5k, and my record time!

This was my very first 5k, and first race ever…and I just about collapsed and cried when I saw my time! I had been determined to run more and longer races, but due to events of graduating, moving, and working….my determination fell somewhat short. Lately I have been completely drained from work, and servicing others (which, do not get me wrong, I LOVE and LIVE to do), that I have not been giving myself enough of that “me” time . Hence, improving my cardio to get me in more races 🙂 Not to mention, heading out for a run, especially first thing in the morning, is an incredibly therapeutic way to begin your day on the right foot (no pun fully intended hehe) – It gets you up, out and active while getting some of that vitamin D; well, if you our here in California you would get plenty of D this morning, unlike my family stuck on the East Coast (stay dry!!)

I was so ready for breakfast when I got back in the door – and just in time because the heat was beginning to rise out here in the valley. I whipped up this easy and creative, if I do say so myself, Sunday morning breakfast:

This just might be a new favorite of mine!

  • Two Kashi 7-grain Frozen Waffles
  • Spiced Pear Yogurt mixed wit
    Gold Standard Vanilla Whey Protein
    Dotfit Muscle defender (L-Glutamine)
  • some chopped red delicious apple slices
  • a few frozen banana slices
  • Cinnamon
  • Sprinkle of Cascadian Farms Granola

MMM MMM MMM! I was still a little hungry afterwards, so I sliced up some of my momma’s fantastic banana bread to take along to the farmers market

Banana Bread

Heat oven to 350
Grease 9″x5″ loaf pan

2 Tblsps shortening
2 Tblsps mashed canellini beans
2/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups Bisquick – Heart Smart
1 cup mashed ripe bananas – about 2-3 medium
1/3 cup chopped nuts – optional

Cream shortening, beans and sugar.  Combine remaining ingredients and mix until well blended.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 50-55 minutes.  Cool completely before slicing.

 

My mom is the best when it comes to mailing care packages, especially when she tosses in healthy (well at least somewhat healthy…) baked goods!

Happy Sunday! and I hope everyone out there on the East Coast is staying safe during Irene!

 

Tell me whatcha think!

