Knowing When to Call it Quits.

HAPPY COFFEE DAY!!

one was “meh” while the other very satisfying 🙂

After a late-morning workout in Santa Monica at their 24-hr fitness, I races next door to make it in time to get their flavored coffee of the day – thank goodness it just so happened to be pumpkin spice (and I did NOT care that they weren’t on the “free coffee list, it’s so worth it)!! However, I was somewhat let down when they didn’t have have any of those grab n go greek yogurts – so I settled for their sub-par sugary vanilla yogurt and added in some cinnamon and my banana. Oh well, at least I got my coffee…and in celebration of coffee day, I made it a large 🙂
Now, did you notice a few odd things within that last paragraph??
What am I doing in Santa Monica at this time of day, and why 24-hr fitness? Why am I not in Hollywood at Crunch?

I decided enough was enough.

First  off I highly encourage you to read this post from Peanut Butter Fingers: When the Money isn’t Worth it. Three months ago, I took what I thought was my dream job: being a personal trainer at Crunch Fitness, where the occasional celebrity works out ,and where Bob Harper teaches spin on Saturday mornings. When I was offered the job, I was also offered a job at two other gyms; however, I was told this was where I would get paid the most – so obviously I jumped on this opportunity in a flash (within my first two weeks of living in LA too).  Long story short, after the first month I began to feel too much emphasis on the sales aspect rather than helping clients get to their fitness goals. Now I am a huge perfectionist and overachiever…which took a major toll on my stress level within the first month. At this point my parents and Mat would hound me each and every day to just quit; well I am not one to just give up…until I read PBF’s post which hit me really hard and opened my eyes quite a bit — especially being someone who’s mantra is “if you want something done right, do it yourself.” I rarely ever allow others to do things for me; I am a very independent person.

Almost two more months went by as I decided to just “suck it up,” thinking things will get better in due time. I was new to L.A. and this was just part of the adjustment process. Boy was I wrong, and I cannot tell you how blessed I feel to finally realize this.  I made a promise to myself: I would never let L.A. change the genuine person I was. Once Mat confronted me on how I did allow this to happen since I took the job, I knew it was time to call it quits.

I grew the courage to get over my pride, and to take a chance – giving my two weeks without having another job lined up. Now if you know anything about control freaks, this can be one of the hardest obstacles to overcome. However, came to realize, thanks to some amazing Crunch members (whose names I will not mention) who lectured me that I was far more than just a trainer to them. It was because of the members, my dedicated boyfriend, and loving parents that I consciously became aware that I did not deserve this kind of stress and demand at the age of 22. It is just not healthy.

Your worth is measured by your hard work — but more importantly, by how REAL you are with yourself and others. Be genuine, and always put your happiness first.

I took the leap of faith. I put my two weeks in, and today is my last training day. While I love the gym and about 90% of the members, I could not be happier with my decision. I do love training, but only on my own terms. I also do not regret taking this job – it taught me several life lessons, while toughening up my skin quite a bit (which you definitely need out here).

I encourage each and every one of you to take a look at your life for 5 minutes. Think about the aspects that make you happy, and make sure that you never allow anything come between you and your happiness and your relationships.
And remember, as scary as it might be every now and then…do not be scared to take that leap of faith towards an opportunity, the universe will allow everything to fall in place – you just have to believe.

2 thoughts on “Knowing When to Call it Quits.

  1. Pingback: Farmer’s Market Find: Fruity Faces « Nutritious Nibbles

Tell me whatcha think!

