Ooey Gooey Pumpkin Oats

This morning was the PERFECT morning to just cozy up in a comfy sweatshirt and sleep in – alas, Mat and I had made a commitment to get our hinies to the gym.  I was hoping that a handful of berries and a banana out the door would help wake me up like they normally do first thing before a workout…but not this morning. When we got to the gym we spotted a new type of energy drink: Guru Energy.

This natural energy drink surprisingly contains no preservatives, aspartame, or taurine. Not to mention I felt it hit me right in the middle of my workout (about 15 minutes in) – not too bad considering I gulped half of it before getting things started! The best thing about this drink is that it is comparable in price and size to drinks like Sugar Free Redbull, except there is absolutely no aspartame. Normally we find this sugar substitute in just about anything that is labeled “sugar-free.” Aspartame has recently been linked to brain tumors; but it is found in the majority of products we buy – the good thing is that these major side effects occur when consumed in excessive amounts (i.e. drinking 4 liters of diet coke a day). Stevia is a natural sweetener, which I cannot wait until all products with aspartame are replaced with this plant extract!

After we wrapped up our workouts, I was so ready to make something gooey and warm…especially since it was so dang cold this morning! (The weather is really a tease out here when its 60 degrees at 6:30, and then by 10am its nearly 80! make up your mind mother nature!!). I recently purchased a can of pumpkin from whole foods and could not wait to get this baby open to begin experimenting 🙂

Ooey Gooey Pumpkin Oats:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup (give or take) pumpkin
2 generous teaspoons of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
–To-do for next time: add in nutmeg and ginger for additional spice

Depending on the morning I will either boil water and add it to my oats and allow it to sit for a few minutes before eating. This time, I just added filtered water and popped the watered down oats alone for about 1min 30 seconds. Then I mixed in the vanilla, cinnamon, and pumpkin and tossed it back in the microwave for an additional 45 seconds-1 minute. Lastly, I added a little more water and the protein powder, stirred it all together and topped it off with a few extra dashes of cinnamon.

only that would make this better is a little bit of nutmeg and ginger!

The consistency was perfect in terms of what I was looking for. I normally allow a little tenderness in my oats before I eat them, but this time I made sure to add in enough liquid and added extra time in the microwave so they turn out extra gooey. mmmm 🙂

Its off to a football filled Sunday with the boys 🙂 and some fro-yo to follow!

Tell me whatcha think!

