Asante Sana Squash Banana!!

The other day while I was at the grocery store, a package of banana squash had caught my eye. I had never tried it before, nor had I ever even heard of it; however, all that kept running through my head was Rafiki from The Lion King chanting “Asante sana quash banana!”

I figured this was reason enough to try it out – not to mention, it had already been pre-sliced (half the work done for me!).

I have been meaning to try out a squash puree in place of half the cheese from macaroni and cheese, to make me feel a little bit better about eating Mac & Cheese – now that I know all the preservatives that are in it….sometimes ignorance really is bliss! Especially when Mac & Cheese was one of the only two things I would eat as a kid – the second was PB&J sandwiches, which I still eat just about everyday!
Anywho, while Mat and I were back in Wilmington, we would devote one night out of the week to watch our favorite tv shows (The Office and It’s Always Sunny) with homemade dinner on the couch – 9 times out of 10 we would end up making mac & cheese. With Mat leaving for San Francisco to meet up with his dad who is out here on business, I decided to rekindle the old days (okay, it was only a year ago…) and whip up a healthier creation of our favorite classic!

Mac & Cheese Surprise!

the suprise being banana squash, of course!!

1 cup of cubed banana squash
1cup pasta
1/3-1/2 packet of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese cheese mix
1/4 cup of almond milk ( you can use skim, or 1% if you don’t like almond milk)


Directions:
Squash puree

preheat the ovn to 400-degrees
allow the cubes to bake for 15-20 minutes, flip each cube over and allow another 15-20 minutes
Remove cubes from oven and place in a food processor – pulse until smooth and creamy 🙂
Cook the pasta until tender, drain and place back into the pot
Add in the puree and 1/3-1/2 of the kraft  cheese mix
to loosen up the mixture, add in 1/4 cup milk

Enjoy!

This is definitely one recipe that will be kept in the books for a while. This bowl of creaminess adds a one-two punch of vitamin A from the squash, which is essential for healthy eyes 🙂


Mac & Cheese Surprise!

One thought on “Asante Sana Squash Banana!!

Tell me whatcha think!

