Dessert for Breakfast?! yes please :)

My sincerest apologies for MAJORLY slacking on providing delicious bites and fun fitness to you all this past month. The holidays were just a little bit hectic, and I am proud to say that today is FINALLY my first real day off since mid November (With the exception of 2 days spent visiting family….but I do not consider traveling through airports all that relaxing…and a lovely training session I provided my girl Holli in WeHo) .

This morning started off with a well deserved morning gym session – catching about 10 different colds and a scattered work schedule forced me to put many gym sessions on hold unfortunately. Not to mention, they closed our gym for a few days around Christmas to do some remodeling, which I was super excited to check out this morning — we finally got a TRX section ANDDD battle ropes put in to our functional area! Now if only we could get a pool for swimming laps, I would be very satisfied 🙂

This morning’s workout focused on lower body exercises. I warmed up with alternating jumping jax and high knees, followed by body weight alternating lunges and body weight squats.
From there I did a quick, yet pretty effective strength routine:
45-degree angled leg press – 70lb, 12 reps, 1 set
45-degree angled leg press – 100lb, 12 reps, 2 sets
Walking lunges – forward AND backward 15lb dumbbells, 16 steps each way, 3 reps
Side lunges – 12lb dumbbells, 20 reps (10 on each side), 3 sets
Sumo Squats – 40lbs, 10 reps, 3 sets
Hip Abduction – 70lb, 12 reps, 3 sets
One-legged hip raise on the Bosu ball – 35lb plate, 12 reps each leg, 3 sets

The backward walking lunges REALLY tested my balance — I weeble-wobbled quite a few times trying to get through each set!
I meant to add in calf raises, however, I found myself starting to get a little bored – I figured it was best just to head out and feel accomplished at that point 🙂

Not to mention I had a delicious breakfast on my mind which I couldn’t wait to come home and whip up real quick:

Who knew this dessert-like breakfast could actually be quite healthy (and super simple)?!

2 Vans frozen waffles
Vanilla Yogurt
1 TBSP Hershey’s Dark Cocoa powder 
Sprinkling of cinnamon
Raspberries & Cherries 

I tossed in the frozen waffles in the oven for a few minutes, while mixing the cocoa powder and cinnamon in some vanilla yogurt, which I dolloped on top of the waffles and garnished with some fresh cherries and raspberries.  I had to force myself to gobble this up slowly to savor all the flavors!

Soon to come:  belated holiday post with some guilt-free cookie recipes!

One thought on “Dessert for Breakfast?! yes please :)

Tell me whatcha think!

