Warming the heart with Some Veggie Soup!

While I had thoughts of making a soup with a tomato base…I opted for something a little more versatile with a vegetable base. Not to mention, the low sodium veggie broth was much less in overall sodium in comparison to the low sodium tomato soup broth. Checking on sodium counts are very important since the average American gets far more than the 2,300 mg daily limit. I tell people to try and stay below 2,000 if possible. I was a little indicisive on exactly what to put into tonight’s soup, so to the freezer I went! I grabbed some yellow and orange carrots, edamame, red pepper, ginger root, frozen peas, and a roma tomato and figured that would make this hearty enough!

colorful assortment of veggies! Oh and compliments to Mat's sister on the cute cutting board she gave me for Christmas, thanks Liz! 🙂

Ingredients:
3 Cups Trader Joe’s low sodium vegetable broth
2/3 cup frozen peas
2/3 cup frozen yellow and orange carrot chunks
1 red pepper chopped
1/2 cup edamame
a small amount of ginger root finely diced

I sprinkled on some McCormick’s “perfect pinch” itallian mix after tossing everything into the pot. Keeping the stove on medium heat, I let it simmer for about 45 minutes. MMM MMMM, it was delicious!

To make it even tastier, I used some of Trader Joes’ whole grain pita bread, and smeared on some Babybell swiss cheese to dip into the soup – fantastic! This was a great and hearty way to wrap up a busy day! Not to mention it was incredibly low in sodium and full of heart healthy veggies to keep my ticker good n strong!

Now I am purposefully posting this this morning rather than last night for one main reason…Feb 4th is National Homemade Soup Day! Thank goodness, there ended up being enough for left-overs, so that I can enjoy this on its rightful day! Now, skip the Campbell’s and Progresso cans, and serve your own soup creation today!

3 thoughts on “Warming the heart with Some Veggie Soup!

Tell me whatcha think!

