1 Day Dedicated to 2 Comfort-Carbs!

‘So according to my national food holiday calendar today is “national pizza pie day” AND “national bagels and lox day” My oh my, talk about comfort carbs! After a day of new beginnings (I’ll let you all in on those details soon 😉 ) I figured I would get crafty and combine these two favorites…especially since Mat and I split a Kashi roasted veggie pizza last night, I guess I got a day ahead of myself..oops! On a healthy note – if you opt for a nice frozen pizza – go for Kashi’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza. It not only tastes fantastic, but it is made of a 7-grain thin crust, and it is loaded with veggies, pesto and cheese (for some healthy fats).

Now, like I mentioned, I decided I ought to get a little crafty to incorporate both of these  — pizza bagels! :).

So simple to make:

Ingredients:
-1 Bagel Thin (whole wheat)
-Roma tomato, sliced
-Veggies of choice
-Part-skim Mozzarella Shredded Cheese

I popped these bad boys in the oven at 350-degrees for about 10  minutes, and they were ready to be instantly devoured!

mmmmm mmmm simple, yet so delicious!

AND since it was an absolutely gorgeous day, 81-degrees and sunny-woah!, these little guys paired excellent with a nice cool balsamic pasta salad.

Ingredients:
-Rotini Pasta
-chopped bell pepper
-1 TBSP Balsamic Vinegar
-A few sprays of EVOO spray
-chopped Jicima
-Handful of edamame

I put these ingredients together a few hours ahead of time so that it had enough time to chill in the refrigerator.

The pasta salad came out so refreshing, with a hint of sweetness from the balsamic. The pizza, fantastic if I do say so myself! The vegetables roasted perfectly to soften the bread with the melted cheese. As my mom would probably say, “yum-o”

When you are making, or even ordering, pizza, always be sure to load up the vegetables. And one step further, opt for a whole wheat or whole grain crust (preferably thin crust at that), to help increase your fiber and satiety.

Did you enjoy your Bagel or Pizza at all today? I hope it was full of whole grains! 😉

One thought on “1 Day Dedicated to 2 Comfort-Carbs!

  1. Mmmmmmmmmmm…….pizza AND bagels…doesn’t get much better than that! Unless you’re talking about chocolate and champagne of course!!… Btw those blueberries look fantastic 🙂

Tell me whatcha think!

