No Sugar Added Banana Cake Bites<3

First off, I have to say that I love putting lunch together after taking an exercise class. Nine times out of ten I make something new fresh and delicious! Today’s Lunch was definitely one of those creations:

The picture does not do its  sweet/savory flavor justice, I promise!

It was super easy, fresh and bursting of healthy nutrients! The picture does not do its sweet and slightly savory flavor justice!

I cooked up Barilla’s whole grain pasta shells, sauted some red swiss chard and frozen aspargus, drained and used about 1/2 a can of tuna, and chopped up some grape tomatoes, jicama, and a sweet orange pepper. From there, I mixed it all together, drizzled in some balsamic vinagar, remixed it, and voila!

It was GREAT to finally have something other than my traditional turkey or chicken sandwich.

I have not been able to bake as much as I prefer to, since I bagan my online classes, I have found myself with my nose in my books rather than cake batter! However, when special occasions arise, like my boss’s birthday I made an exception to toss my textbooks aside and whip up a creative concotion: no sugar added mini cake bites! Or mini cupcakes, whatever you feel like calling them.

Happy Birthday Christina 🙂

Ingredients:

Pillsbury’s Sugar Free Yellow Cake Mix (1/2 the box-mix)
2 Large egg whites
1/3 cup of mashed banana
1/2 cup water

Preheat the oven to 325
Line a mini cupcake pan with liners
Blend all the ingredients together (I mixed the egg whites and banana, then alternated mixing in the cake mix and water little by little).
Slowly pour the batter into the mini cake liners, and pop into the oven for about 20-25 minutes
Allow them to cool, then top with your favorite toppings.

The first batch I topped them with whipped chocolate frosting and topped it off with sliced strawberries.

More recently I made a second batch of these with the remainder of the cake mix and made them even better! Instead of the whipped chocolate frosting from a container, I used Nutella and finished it off with a strawberry. HOLY GOODNESS! These bites really turned on my salivary glands. While these are guilt free, keep in mind how many of these little tykes you are popping into your belly 😉

Enjoy this recipe, and I will try to whip up some more delicious sweet treats for you guys! But for now, it is off to get started on this week’s assignments on my day off before a very hectic work-week (yes, that is right I get my Monday’s off from my new job! But Friday’s are always a very long day….but hey, you win some, you lose some.)

2 thoughts on “No Sugar Added Banana Cake Bites<3

Tell me whatcha think!

