No Sugar Added Sweets ;)

My appologies. I have been highly inconsistent these past few months in updating you all!  And yes, there is always an excuse – this time it was the combination from work and school; however, I have finally just completed my very first two graduate level courses! woohoo!

And furthermore excitement entails…most of my co-workers in the physical therapy office I work at are taking the step to cut back on their sugar intake! I was so proud of them, and even more excited at to bake up some sugar free/no sugar added treats 🙂

Now this first one was a DEFINITE to make yesterday, since it was National Peanut butter & jelly day. Of course, I realized this AFTER I made my lunch yesterday. This recipe was adapted from CORRIGAN8 at Sparkpeople.com. I changed a few minor things. I cut the recipe in half, because the peanut butter I used (PB2 – AMAZING!) was expensive, and I was afraid of how they would turn out. And to make this cookie more fitting for the “holiday,” I put a little dab of strawberry preserves (all fruit, no added sugars!) to make it taste like an actual PPJ 🙂

Just before I popped them into the oven

Ingredients:

– 1/2 cup PB2 peanut butter
-4 tbsp water
-1/2 an egg, or 1 eggwhite
– 1/4 cup stevia
-strawberry preserves

Directions (super easy):
Preheat your oven to 325-degrees.
Whisk your egg, then add in the PB2 and water and mix.
Slowly mix in the stevia. If the mixture seems too liquidy, add in more PB2 powder to thicken it up.
Use a spoon to dallop small scoops of the mixture onto your nonstick pan. Then dab on some preserves on top, I found it easier to use a knife to slowly dab some on to each cookie.
Allow to cook for about 15 minutes, and cool for about 45min – 1 hour.

This batch made about 30 little cookies.

I think the best part was probably licking the wisk, and then nibbling on about 7 of these cookies, before I restrained myself by just packing the rest up for work.

I was feeling pretty frisky so I tried out another recipe which I adapted from TRUTHISBEAUTY, also from sparkpeople.com . Instead of muffins, I decided to make it as a bread, without the chocolate chips, and decided to top it off with some rolled oats. It looks SO good when I took it out of the oven…

until after I allowed for it to cool and sliced it….that’s when I noticed it did not cook too thoroughly. I didn’t think it would be something I would want to let sit out at work, so I figured I would just keep it in the refrigerator for Mat and  I to enjoy…I guess I will give it another go around later this week.

Ingredients:
-3 large ripe bananas
-3/4 c stevia
-1tsp baking soda
-2 egg whites
-1 C all purpose flour
-1/2 C wheat flour
-1/3 C unsweetened applesauce
-1tsp baking powder

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375.  In a large bowl, mash the bananas and add in the egg whites, applesauce, and stevia. Mix the dry ingredients in one medium bowl. Slowly mix in the dry ingredients. Pour into a bread pan, or into muffin cups if you choose to make muffins instead. Top off with some rolled oats, then pop it into the oven for 25 minutes – check with a toothpick before taking it out 🙂

 

Now this morning, I made sure to find a way to honor “chocolate mousse day” with some overnight oats as my mid morning snack!

so chocolately and so good (and healthy!)

 

This was super simple. I simply microwaves oats last night and let it chill in the fridge with some extra water overnight. In the morning I mixed in vanilla yogurt, some protein powder, chia seeds, and unsweetened chocoa powder, and topped it off with some more chia seeds and fruit! YUM 🙂

 

What are your favorite sugar-free  no sugar added treats?

Tell me whatcha think!

