Applesauce and Berries!

One thing I love is when birthdays and other celebrations roll around at work – it always serves as a great excuse to bake! šŸ™‚ This past week called for TWO birthdays, and the last day for Robin, one of our physical therapists who is moving up near the bay area (yep, I am jealous!) I was able to whip up two delicious no sugar added sweets in celebration!

First up – my Berry Yummy Cake, which I adapted from JLCSD42 at sparkpeople.com

Ingredients:
1 Box pillsbury sugar-free classic yellow cake mix
1 C unsweetened applesauce
2 egg whites
6 oz. yumberry Ā carbsmart yogurt (or any yogurt)
3/4 C water
3/4 C chopped strawberries
Cool-whip

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350-degrees.
Mix together egg whites, applesauce, and yogurt. Add in cake mix and water. Lastly add in the strawberries. Pour into two 9-inch round pans and bake for about 25-30 minutes.
Allow cake to cool . Place one layer upside down on a plate or serving tray,Ā dollopĀ / spreadĀ cool-whipĀ on topĀ of bottom layer, and place the second layer right-side-up on top of cool-whip. Serve immediately, or place in theĀ refrigeratorĀ until serving.

Normally I would have covered the whole thing with cool-whip, but I did not have enough…nor did I feel like going to the grocery store to pick some up :-p

Overall I was very pleased how this turned out, and I had a habit throughout the day of picking out the strawberries šŸ™‚ Sweet, fruity, and low-guilt sweet treat to help get us through the busy afternoon!

Next up was to bake one of my all-time favorite recipes that my mom had given me while I was doing my undergrad at UNCW: Saucy Apple Swirl Cake! This was Ā a super easy recipe my mom sent me from her local news paper in Connecticut. This used to be my go-to recipe for pot-lucks, and otherĀ miscellaneousĀ celebrations! Ā Normally it is made in aĀ buntĀ pan; however, I could not find mine, so I just used an 8×8 pan instead.

Ingredients:
1 box sugar-free yellow cake mix
1/4 C granulated sugar (or sugar substitute, I used Truvia)
3 tsp cinnamon
1 2/3 C unsweetened applesauce
4 eggwhites, 1 full egg

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350-degrees.
In a small separate dish, mix sugar and cinnamon together. Sprinkle about 1 TBSP of cinnamon sugar around a greased pan.
Mix together the egg whites, applesauce, and cake mix together in a large bowl.
Pour approximately 1/2 the batter along the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle 2/3 of remaining cinnamon sugar mixture on top of the poured cake mixture. Add in the remaining cake mixture, and top off with the left over cinnamon sugar mix. Pop your pan into the oven for about 40 minutes, or until toothpick runs clean.

Allow to cool for 15 minutes, and enjoy!

These taste even better than they look - and I would say the look pretty darn good šŸ˜‰

Like usual, this ended up being quite the favorite in the office. Luckily I left the crumbled squares at home to pig out on, oh and I guess so Mat can have some as well hehe šŸ˜‰

Thanks mom for the delicious recipe that continues to be my favorite! Also, you may have noticed that I refer to sparkpeople.com quite a bit for recipes. They have an awesome iPhone app called “spark recipes” which is an awesome index for searching for new and healthy dishes and desserts. It is easily one of my favorite apps to grab ideas from, especially when it comes to my baking!!

Tell me whatcha think!

