Meet Toby!!

There is a new man in my life, and not only is he incredibly loving, he is SO handsome:

what a doll!

I picked Toby, formally named Bobby, from the East LA shelter last weekend. He is a 9-year old mix of part King Charles Cavalier and part Dachshund.   Long story short, it was love at first sight – but I will admit, I was incredibly hesitant prior to officially getting him as the long-term commitment had me a little worried. But I could not say no 🙂 He had just been neutered so he was good totake right away..and in just TWO short days, he will have those stitches off – meaning the lampshade can FINALLY come off.

Not only is that thing dorky, but he tends to forget he has it on sometimes….and he had a tendency to accidentally whack Mat and I in the face with that thing. Not to mention, when he tries to sit in my lap in the car, it kind-of blocks my view – yeah, it’s a fender bender waiting to happen!

Since yesterday was my day off, I think you can guess what I wanted to experiment with…..

puppy treats!!

First was a simple and sweet biscuit, which I was sure Toby would enjoy. I tried out a recipe I found on allrecipes.com for Brie’s Banana and Honey Dog Treats:
Ingredients:
1/4 C water
1 small banana, mashed
1/2 TBSP Honey
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg white
1 C whole-wheat flour
1/4 TSP baking powder

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
Combine water, mashed bananas, honey, vanilla, and egg in a large bowl. Stir in whole-wheat flour and baking powder. Beat dough with an electric mixer on medium speed until ingredients are thoroughly combined, 1 to 2 minutes.
Bake for about 20 minutes, and allow to cool.
Unfortunately, Toby was not enthused by these, so I tried out something out of the blue which I KNEW he would love. I found a recipe for sweet potato and chicken treats, but there were several things I did not want to use (i.e. yogurt, since dairy can be controversial to a puppy’s belly), and several things I wanted to add in instead.
Veggie and Garlic Chicken Treats:
Ingredients:
1 Chicken Tenderloin
1 small Yam or sweet potato
a few slices of zuchinni
a handful of spinach wilted with little bits of  fresh garlic.
2 TBSP whole-wheat flour
1 egg white

ingredients. okay, lets be honest, this alone looks yummy (all that is missing is the egg whits and flour)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350-degrees. Bake Chicken, yam, and zucchini in the oven to roast for about 25-30 minutes. At the same time wilt a handful of spinach along with some fresh minced garlic.
Place all ingredients in a food processor and pulse. Add in egg white, and  flour, and process until gooey consistency.

The consistency should look similar to this...gross I know

Dollop mixture into small circles onto a baking pan, and bake for 15-20 minutes. Allow to cool before serving.

Toby LOVED this one, and I figured he would since chicken is like puppy crack for him! And I must say, I had a bite of one (or  maybe three), and they are definitely not bad at all!

That’s all for now! I’m off to polish off a little bit of homework before heading into work, then picking Toby up from doggy daycare at The Loved Dog. Yep, I enrolled my pup in doggy daycare – spoiled little puppy :-p

Have a great Tuesday!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Meet Toby!!

  1. O…
    M…
    G!!!
    he is SUCH a Q-T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    he looks alot like our Jake, only with long hair. 🙂
    thanks for the treat recipe too! i will certainly try that on our squirrels 🙂
    love you guys & love mr. Toby!!!
    cousin-T

  2. Pingback: Refreshing Kick-off to Grilling Season | Nutritious Nibbles

Tell me whatcha think!

