Mother’s Day Comfort Cookies

happy mother’s day!! ❤

Near or far, I hope you all have done something special for your mothers out there! Remind her in some way how special she is. I know I am incredibly fortunate to have been blessed with the most giving and loving woman. I can always count on her at any hour to listen to me pour my heart out, whether it is in sadness or happiness. Furthermore she offers the best advice, she is one of the wisest women I know. She is not only my mother, but she is my best friend.
I love you mom 🙂

In honor of my mom, I wanted to make her famous chocolate chip cookies. These are one of my mom’s ultimate staples – my only complaint since I had been growing up was that they were not chewey enough, my mom likes to use a lot of flour in her cookies. None the less, they were ALWAYS delicious. These were her signature cookies, which were always expected by friends and guests – not to mention, they always brightened any of my bad days.

I found a written recipe for her cookies which she sent me a few months back, and I knew this would be a perfect way to honor her and her fabulous baking while being thousands of miles apart.
Well one minor adjustment, lead to another…and her recipe was completely redone (sorry mom!) I replaced the shortening with a combo of peanut butter and mashed banana, and cut part of the brown sugar in half and replaced the latter half with applesauce. THEN I remembered Mat’s cousin, who is out here on vacation, unfortunately has Ceiliac’s, so she cannot have gluten. This prompted me to replace the flour with Trader Joe’s gluten-free rolled oats (wihch I just tossed into a food processor to create a more powder substance). oh well, maybe next time mom.

My Momma’s FAMOUS Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Ingredients:
1 C light brown sugar
1/2 C shortening
1 egg beaten
1 3/4 C flour
1/4 TSP baking powder
1/2 TSP baking soda
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

My Gluten-Free Peanut Butter (chocolate chip) Oat Cookies:

Ingredients:
1/2 C light brown sugar
1/2 C unsweetened apple sauce
1/4 C mashed banana
1/4 C unsalted natural peanut butter
2 egg whites
1 3/4 C Rolled Oats (powdered via food processor)
1/4 TSP baking powder
1/2 TSP baking soda
1 TSP vanilla extract
1/4 C dark chocolate chips (I made half the batch chocolate chip, and the other half plain)

Directions for both recipes:
Preheat oven to 375 – degrees. Cream together the wet ingredients. Mix in the baking soda and baking powder. Slowly add in flour/oats. Lastly, fold in the chocolate chips. Drop onto a non-stick cookie sheet, or parchment paper. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Makes 2 – 2 1/2 dozen.

Sadly, I have already had 6…and they just popped out of the oven an hour ago. oops!

Super soft and delicious! ENJOY!

What’s your favorite snack / dish from your mom’s kitchen? 

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Comfort Cookies

  1. i think i will try BOTH of these recipes & have a taste test with friends & family here in SC! 🙂
    we LOVE YOU, Auntie Linda!!!!! :)))))
    hope you and everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    • Thanks Traci! More than likely my mom’s recipe will beat mine by a landslide! haha nothing can compare to her signature cookies 🙂
      I hope you had a wonderful mother’s day (puppy momma!) hehe

Tell me whatcha think!

