Jimmy Juice <3

I dread being the bearer of terrible news, but unfortunately we have to say good-bye to someone who made an incredibly huge impact on my life: my brother.

I love you Jimmy<3

While we may have had our fair share of fights and head-butting, my brother, Jimmy, was my hero. Throughout all the tough times my family has put each other through; we have made it out alive and well. I currently am unaware of his cause of death; however, I do know he is in a safe place . He runs along the clouds, and speaks to us in the wind – his presence is forever everywhere.

Recently I have admired my brother more than ever, and the lifestyle changes he conformed to. The once junk-food, bloody meat, and fat-laden French fry lover had recently taken a turn towards a more wholesome diet. This was mainly a plan-based diet, with very little meat consumption. The only meat he would eat was white chicken – go figure, this was a guy who LOVED ordering juicy burgers…with the juice being blood….yuck!!! He was hooked on all things health-related. He loved spirulina and chlorophyll for energy and loved all things veggies (hey, another fellow veggie lover…there was finally SOMETHING we had in common!!)

Unfortunately he had to leave us in a physical sense; however, he’s not gone. In fact, while I live on the other side of the country, I feel him closer to me than ever before, keeping an eye out and watching my back 😉

On their one-year anniversary a few years ago. I couldn’t have been more delighted when I met Ali – they are truly two pees in a pod, the perfect combo.

Let us not mourn for such a loss on earth, but rather we ought to celebrate all he has achieved and improved on in these past few years. While on the plane ride home, I came across a passage from The Prophet:

And what is to cease breathing, but to free the breath from its restless tides,
that it may rise and expand and seek God unencumbered?
Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing.
And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb.
And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance.

 

Royalty Florist & Café

Now this is a hidden gem in Studio City, CA. Located on  Ventura Ave, next to a gas station, Royalty Florist & Cafe  looks like nothing special…but take one step inside and you will be overwhelmed by an adorable atmosphere and a full bar or fresh fruits, veggies, and an extensive menu! They are most known for their great juices, and I figured this would be a cute way to honor my brother, and his recent healthy lifestyle changes.

The most helpful juice lady to help me decide on the perfect drink for Jimmy 🙂 Thank you so much!

At first I was overwhelmed by all the options, but the lady working assured me that I could create my own (score!). I wanted this to be a symbol of Jimmy, so I put in a bunch of his favorites:

  • Kale
  • Cucumber
  • Green Pepper
  • Lemon
  • Ginger

This drink came out fantastic!!! It was so hard for me to savor it throughout our hike..but I wanted to be corny and finish it at the top of the mountain, where I could be closest to him:)
Overall, it was the perfect combo of fresh greens with a hint of sweet/tart from the lemon – SO refreshing on a sunny day (thanks for the sunshine Jimmy!)
And what better way to cherish this day than to spend it hiking and relishing in the beauty that nature has given us.

High on the mountains, just a little closer to my big brother ❤

Had to get Toby in there too 😉

Jimmy your presence is deeply missed, but I know your spirit is still and forever will be among us.
I couldn’t ask for a better big brother – thanks for always having my back Jim-bo 😉

5 thoughts on “Jimmy Juice <3

  1. Beautiful and loving thoughts. May God bless you and your family during this difficult and sad time. Always remembering happy times together.

    • Thank you so much Vicki, you have been so wonderful and supportive for my family during this time…however, I do have a bone to pick with you about those nantucket cookies you brought along with the yummy salad and ziti…those are my guiltiest pleasure, ugh! haha 🙂

  2. Karen
    This is a wonderful tribute to Jimmy! I still think of him as I last knew him….he was one of Sean’s very closest friends growing up (for better or worse). Sweet boy then and I am sure he was a very sweet man. I know he will be sorely missed.
    Godspeed Jimmy!
    Margie Bourgoin

  3. Karen, I feel so terrible I didn’t know this until now when I randomly decided to visit your blog (which I occasionally do!). I am so sorry for your loss…as repetitive as it may sound, my thoughts and prayers really are with you and your family. This was such a beautiful and happy post and I’m so glad to see you’re smiling. You are beautiful! I hope I can see your face soon-either when you’re back on the east or I get to LA. I love you Karen!!

    • Thank you so much Yejin, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your kind words. It is so heartwarming to have friends like you still in my life<3
      call me asap when / if you ever get back out here, I'll be living on the west side next month! 🙂

Tell me whatcha think!

