Not your Average Quesadilla

When someone says “quesadilla” I bet the first thing that comes to mind is the traditional  Mexican side-dish  featuring melted cheese sandwiched pressed and heated between two tortillas. You may even think of Taco Bell, especially with how much our media promotes cheap fast food!

Well I want to introduce a new style of quesadillas…Salvadorean-style.
El Salvador is well-known for baking up these delicious dessert-like cheese cakes. When first looking at it, you would isntantly think it was cornbread….but take one bite into this soft and moist cake, let the flavors melt throughout your mouth…and it instantly tastes like a quesadilla with a completely different texture.

This is how a traditional Salvadorean quesadilla looks…mine came out a little more differently – but I couldn’t totally complain 🙂

I first tried this dessert out on my very first day at Orthosport. One of our patients, Elsa, brought it in, and I fell in love. I also realized, “hey, this is a pretty sweet place to work!” I hassled this patient at almost every one of her appointments for her to bring me the recipe so that I can try it out. Finally, on one of her last visits, she came in with another huge pan of it, along with the recipe 🙂 woohoo!

After several months of, “I’m going to make this” and “Oh I think I am going to try this recipe out,” I finally made the attempt at whipping some up last night. And I was not disappointed.

I changed a few things to Elsa’s easy recipe…and everyone at the office caught on…darn it! I didn’t have any regular granulated sugar in the apartment (only brown sugar, powdered sugar, and stevia), so I opted for the stevia….NEVER try to fool my co-workers with fake sugar…they are sugar addicts and refuse anything but the good ‘ol stuff 😉 and I love them for it! haha

Quesadilla Salvadoreda (Elsa’s Recipe // my alteration):

Ingredients:
-2 C Bisquick
-1 C Sugar // 1 C Stevia
-1 Stick Butter (1/2 C.)
-1 C Milk
-1/2 C Sour Cream
-1/2 C Parmasean Cheese //  1/2 C 3-cheese Mexican Blend
-1 egg
-Sesame Seeds (optional)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350-degrees
Blend butter and sugar until achieving a soft creamy texture. Beat in egg, then sour cream, cheese. Alternate adding in Bisquick and milk. Mix until smooth.
Pour into a non-stick pan, top off with sesame seeds (optional), and bake for 45 minutes.
Allow to cool, and enjoy!

Okay, so mine turned out a little odd in appearance. The middle rose a little higher than the rest, and it did not quite “brown-up” on the top, like the traditional cake could. My co-workers called it a “whitey quesadilla” ha I joked, and said “well what do you expect from a whitey American?!” 😛

A bite of sweet moist cheesy cake. oh my, oh my 🙂

None-the-less, it was devoured by the end of the day…and how could it not?! The warm, moist texture, paired with the sweet and cheesy flavor is very hard to resist!!
Now, I can’t say that this is the healthiest dish….or a healthy dish at all. But it is definitely worth the little indulgence in. So long as it is just a few “nibbles” 🙂

Try it out sometime and let me know what you think? I personally think it puts our stereotypical quesadillas to shame!

Tell me whatcha think!

