Gluten Free Brownies

Happy Birthday Julia Child!!!

In honor of the famous chef who brought fine art of French cuisine to the United State, I figured I ought to get a little busy in the kitchen after I got off work. Low and behold….gluten free chocolate brownies!

I received this recipe last week from my Medical Nutrition Therapy instructor during our unit based on Lower Gastrointestinal Disorders (sounds gross, huh?). Our main focus was looking at the effects and how to cope with celiac disease – an autoimmune disease where the small intestine is damaged when exposed to gluten (a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye). While discussing gluten free diets, our professor sent us her gluten free brownie recipe which she highly recommended….with a special ingredient which many of you may be very skeptical about.

Black Beans

Beans beans that musical fruit, the more you eat, the more ya toot! 😉

Okay, yes that sounds super gross. But when paired with cocoa powder, and chocolate chips, you cannot even tell that there are black beans in this recipe! Now, quick side note: black beans are an excellent source of both fiber and protein, giving a health boost to this sweet treat!

Of course, as usual, I slightly adapted my instructor’s recipe to items I had in my apartment.

Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients:
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 C sugar
1/4 C brown sugar
3 TBSP Coconut oil
1/3 C + 3TBSP Egg white egg beaters (or 3 whole eggs)
1 TSP baking soda
1TSP vanilla extract
1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 C dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350-degrees
Toss all ingredients into a blender

looks appetizing….not! except for the chocolate chips of course! 😉


Mix it up, and pour into an 8×8 pan
Bake for approx 30minutes.

I plan to top this sucker off with cool whip and blueberries for more of a refreshing sweet treat for the mid-day slump at work 😉


What are your favorite “odd-ingredient” recipes?
My mom once sent me some fabulous peanut butter chocolate chip cookies made from cannellini beans in place of shortening…yummy!

 

UPDATE:

Here is how the end result turned out today:

brownie topped with coolwhip and blueberries…..MAJOR success 🙂

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Brownies

  1. Hi Karen I would love to try the peanutbutter cookies. Can u post that recipe please. I have tried brownies yr way I’m curious to know how the peanutbutter cookie tastes. Thanks

  2. Pingback: Gone Bananas for Monkey Chunk Bars « Nutritious Nibbles

Tell me whatcha think!

