End of Summer Chicken Ratatouille

New and exciting news!! Well, if all goes accordingly, as as planned…then it will be good news 🙂

While I am currently working on my Masters in Applied Nutrition…it is a very slow and steady process…emphasis on slow. I LOVE working with people, and helping them achieve their health and wellness goals; however, there is only so much I can really do with an Exercise Science degree, and a Cert in personal training. Alas, I stumbled upon and took the [financial] plunge to sign up for the AFPA Nutrition & Wellness Consultant Certification, to help jump-start my nutritional consulting gig ( FYI- AFPA stands for American Fitness Professionals & Associates).

time to buckle down n get studying!

With this certification I can legally:

  • Offer clients a well-rounded nutrition plan for their optimal health
  • Review and revise eating habits
  • Advising tailored weight management plans
  • Work on health behavior changes
  • Discuss fad diets, and why they really do not work

A few main things I will not be able to do includes: going against doctors orders, diagnosing a client, prescribe medical prescriptions. There are a few others; however, those are just the basics.
The course is more strenuous than I had anticipated. It is split into three sections – two of which are writing packets (assignment 1, and assignment 2). Once I complete both parts, which is completed after reading three books and one set of Dr. Weil CD-Roms, I can then schedule my exam, which an individual must score at least a 90% in order to gain certificaiton –yep, did not know that until AFTER I placed my order….

Good thing I tend to be a go-getter – it will take a lot of will-power to keep me on track with everything! But I know that the end of the journey will be VERY rewarding!!

Now a healthy / nutritious new chapter prompted my culinary side to whip up a delicious dinner!
I love the idea of ratatouille, and even more so I adore the Pixar movie

ain’t he so cute?!

As usual, I wanted something unique, healthy, and most importantly, CLEAN!!
I call this one:

End of Summer Chicken Ratatouille 

Ingredients:
3 Chicken breast tenderloins, cut into small 1-inch squares
3 Roma tomatoes
Pinch of whole wheat flour
Eggplant, sliced
Dairy-Free Mozzarella cheese (maybe 2 TBSP? )
Itallian Squash sliced and chopped
Zucchini, sliced and chopped
2 TBSP Balsamic Vinegar, separated




Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 375-degrees
Chop up tomatoes and allow to simmer in a skillet. Add in a little touch of whole wheat flour to thicken.
Using a glass plan (I used a small pyrex bread pan because I just cook for myself), pour about half of the tomato mix along the bottom. Create a layer of assorted squashes, then half of the chicken squares. Sprinkle cheese, and drizzle 1 TBSP balsamic. Add another layer of mixed squash, followed by more chicken, and then another layer of remaining squash.
Top it all off with the remaining tomatoes, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.
Bake for about 45 -50 minutes.

Allow at least 15 minutes to cool before digging in.

be sure to allow it to cool before digging in! It will be VERY hot!

 

This pairs quite well with pasta 😉 I really loved the savory flavor of the tomatoes, accompanied by a light sweet undertone from the balsamic – making this a great dish to wrap up a hot day! Even better – everything is clean and fresh – no preservatives at all here!

Bonne Appetit!

2 thoughts on “End of Summer Chicken Ratatouille

Tell me whatcha think!

