Naturally Healthy Banana Bread

I know I mention it all too often, and unfortunately I won’t stop expressing my love for bananas. While they are relatively high in sugars in comparison to many other common fruits, they act a great source of natural energy and excellent in a variety of healthy baking substitutions, especially one of my childhood favorites: banana bread.

Growing up, my mom always made the best baked goods(and she still does!) – cookies, cakes, pies, and her creative breads. he definitely has a great knack for baking. However, over the years, I have come to find why her baking was so comforting and delicious while growing up: sugar and shortening – boo…

I have made several attempts to revitalize some of her famous homemade baked goods in a healthier fashion. My biggest battle has been her banana bread. While I have come up with some tasty creations, nothing has been able to compare to her special recipe…until the other night.

chock full of bananas!

Behold, my super healthy and absolutely delicious banana bread, which I adapted from 8 Weeks to a Better You RecipesAnd an extra plus: they are gluten free (as long as your oats are gluten free- check your labels!)

Ingredients:
3-4 Ripe Bananas, mashed
1/3 C egg beaters egg whites
3/4 C honey
1 TSP Baking soda
2 C Oat Flour
1/2 C No Sugar Added Applesauce
Cinnamon, as much/little as desired

Be sure to mix the wet and dry ingredients separately and well. Then slowly dd the dry into the wet for a better consistency.

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350-degrees
In a small bowl, mix dry ingredients. In a medium/large bowl, mix together honey and apple sauce, mix in egg whites, then mashed banana. Slowly pour in dry ingredients, and mix together until a smooth consistency is achieved.
Pour into a bread pan, and bake for 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick runs clear after sticking it into the middle.

mmmm smells so yummy 🙂

Allow at least 15 minutes to cool, and indulge.

This pairs SO well with a delicious cup of coffee, such as Green Mountain’s Vanilla Caramel Cream K-cup coffee. Delicious!

I do give my mom a lot of praise, as she has cut back on the use of oil and shortenings and incorporating several other baking substitutions recently. And, as to be expected, each of her creations have come out fantastic 🙂

4 thoughts on “Naturally Healthy Banana Bread

  1. Hi Karen, I love your blog! I am going to make your banana bread next weekend . Quick question , oat flour, is that available at the regular supermarket or specialty store ?
    Thanks! Cindy

    • Thank you Cindy!! And yes, you can buy it in the store as is…I prefer just to buy it in bulk to use for breakfast, and when I bake I just put the amount my recipe calls for and let it run through a food processor until I get a powder-like consistency.
      Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Tell me whatcha think!

