Farmers Market Finds: Kringlela!

I hope you all have had a fabulous weekend, and kept cool! It’s been a hot one for all of L.A. this past week, and week to come (yikes!). It seemed like everyone flocked over to the beach or remained indoors with the A.C. on full blast, because there was hardly any traffic, and a very light flow of people through the Farmers Market.

This weekend’s Farmers Market Find is from a stand which I always avoid, as I try to keep it all as healthy as possible, but when I saw their sign for raw food…I was a little intrigued. This weekend features Kinglela Pastries (yup, just by looking at the name, I think you can tell why I had been avoiding it at all costs…excessive sugar!).

must…resist! Oh shoot, never-mind, let’s do this!

Kringlela puts forth their best effort, and it definitely shows, to produce the best quality Dutch pastry (known as the ‘kringle”) around, and I would say their efforts have paid off pretty darn well! They use the best quality ingredients (no fake stuff here!), while putting forth a 3-day extravaganza to fold the dough to perfection, and baked until achieving the perfect golden brown color.

He was SO friendly and very informative about the business and their products – a delight to converse with despite the unfavorably hot weather!

Their worker, Ben or Brian (shoot, I am so bad with names – and I really made it a point to remember this one….I’m pretty sure it was Ben) servd me up a few offers I simple could not refuse of their two new raw square treats: their raw crumble square, and their raw chocolate coconut square. Hm, raw =not processed…okay, I’ll give it a go.

hmmmm

Now before I give you my review on how awesome they were (oops, I spoiled the surprise!), let’s discuss why there has been an increase in popularity for “going raw.”

First off, raw food is simply as put: food in its purest form, uncooked and kept within a temperature limit. This is because once an item hits certain temperature extremes, vitamins and minerals may become denaturized, and our bodies are not able to absorb the nutrients as well.

Going raw has been sown to alleviate symptoms of chronic diseases such as fibromyalgia, diabetes, digestive dysfunction and disorders, multiple sclerosis, hormonal imbalances, allergies, etc. It also is economically beneficial as it requires less land to produce vegetables, versus raising animals (no I am not a vegetarian, but I am socially aware and resect vegetarian/vegan views). And going raw can increase one’s level of natural energy, and mental clarity.

Now that we’ve got the educational portion of this post out of the way…

Holy cow. These were absolutely delicious!! My one and only complaint was the walnuts (they just do NOT settle well in my belly), but I could not even taste them…I did feel it later but that’s another story, which I won’t bore you with.

It even looks like a baby coffee cake!

This reminded me of a little coffee cake crumble, wholesome and sweet. It would go so well as a midmorning snack with a cup of coffee. (ps – I thoroughly enjoyed this bite with my Secret Squirrel iced coffee which I treated myself to this morning! ;))

delectable!

The chocolate coconut square was the perfect balance of sweet dark chocolate, a coconut texture (without compromising the taste), and my favorite, almond. As I took a bite out of this one I felt like I washavign a bite out of a piece of a sinful chocolate coconut cake! Except, jokes on me – every ingredient is beneficial for one’s health!

Initially, I was just going to grab one, but after a few solid minutes in contemplation…I took home one of each. At $2 per individual square, I was sold! FYI – yes, you can buy them pre-packed with several in them (I think they came with 6 or so in them. I would have demolished them by this evening, so I resisted the temptation and belly ache 😛

Oh! And as far as their sinful, and decadent looking pastries…I could not leave those bad boys out…I had to try one. Hey now, it would have been rude of me to not try their original signature creation!

Alas, I gave into my craving and sampled their raspberry pastry.

oh. my. gosh.

Pure heaven.  It was sweet but not overly sweet. The outer lining, was light and flaky, without creating a mess, and the inside…well the inside created a complete raspberry bliss in my mouth.

Kringlela Pastries: you are outstanding, thank you for your sinful treats, while still offering up incredibly healthy options – I appreciate the variety and look forward to grabbing your products while passing through the Studio City Farmers Market more  often.

Tell me whatcha think!

