Farmers Market Find: Bolani

Yes, I know we have hit the end of this past week, and I never shared with you guys the deliciousness that I found last weekend at the farmers market. Well the wait is over, and this find is very fitting for this gorgeous fall time weather, and Halloween just a few days away.

This week’s Farmers Market find was from Bolani, a stand specializing in amazing hummus, sauces, and bolanis. They feature east and west Afghanistan style foods with a focus on healthier food options. Their biggest hit? You could probably guess by their name: Bolanis. The best way to describe it (thank you Wikipedia) is that it is a thin vegan flatbread with a vegetable-type filling. It is kind-of like a very thin naan bread with filling inside.

Arriving to the farmers market on an empty stomach? No worries, he will fill you up!! Endless samples!:)

This stand / company specializes in products that are low-calorie, low-carb, and low-fat, and they are very generous with their samples!

Mmmm yummy! Everything he offered me was so divine. I originally had my eye on their oil-free sun-dried tomato hummus, but when he had me try this sucker, I quickly changed my mind…I was low on cash after getting my typical items, and I just HAD to bring home their trademark item.

Pumpkin Bolani, oh my goodness! This was a phenomenal balance between pumpkin, with a hint of garlic, light olive oil, and I think a smidge of onion. It makes for an appropriate side, or snack at ay time of the day.

Traditionally, they use the bolani as you would pita bread – they generally dip it in pesto, hummus, or any other dip of your liking. I on the other hand was very content enjoying this slightly as is: I sliced I, heated it up in the microwave for about 12 seconds, took off the top layer, sprinkled a little cinnamon, replaced the top layer, and devoured each savory bite!

Each item they sell goes for $6 at their stand; however, if you find their products in Whole Foods (that’s right, you don’t have to wait until the farmers market to get your fix!) everything is sold for $6 except for their famous sweet jalapeno dip – which is an incredible combination of sweet and spicy, and highly addicting. I remember when my old roommate picked some up, I have to walk away and out of the kitchen to prevent myself from eating all of it!

So in case you can’t find this stand at your local farmers market, go check out a Whole Foods Market near you, they will more than likely have their items, and I promise you won’t regret trying it!

Tell me whatcha think!

