Mini Pumpkin Pies

So I was looking back at some of my posts from a year ago, and I cannot believe I haven’t posted anything about my favorite season this year: Autumn 🙂 Back on the east coast this is my absolute favorite time of the year. I love the colors, the distinct smell, and that warmth of a new fleece while watching a good football game and enjoying the best little apple fritters ever from our Pickin’ Patch. Sadly, SoCal lacks the beauty that this season has to offer. Don’t get me wrong, I love the warm sunshine, but it’d be nice to have a week or so of traditional fall weather, it really puts me in the mood to bake and get excited for the holidays, with Halloween being the first to enjoy.

The other day my office had a Halloween potluck, which of course I took full advantage of to whip up some new nibbles. Even though I have baked several different cookies, cakes, bars, etc. I have never baked a pie before…weird, huh? Well I guess I should never say never, because I finally baked my first pie…well a batch of pies that is! I came across this idea for mini pumpkin pies – the perfect idea to add to the insane amount of food that was about to be offered in our office.

Perfect for those that love to try little bit of everything…especially when it comes to desserts;)

I got this idea after coming across Kammie’s Blog for her Skinny Mini Pumpkin Pies. I only slightly altered her filling recipe, and made an actual crust for each bite. Thanks to my ambition to give each one a real crust, these bad boys took quite a while to mix and form.

Crust:
11/2 Cup crushed cinnamon graham crackers
2 TBSP yogurt
1 TBSP Cinnamon
1 TBSP smart balance light, melted

Filling:
1/2 Cup unsweetened condensed milk
1/2 Cup Pumpkin puree
1/3 Cup Egg whites
1 TBSP vanilla whey protein powder
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
**1/4 tsp baking soda(I completely forgot to add this in, and they turned out fine)

Preheat oven to 400-degrees
Run the graham crackers through a blender or food processor, mix in cinnamon and yogurt. Evenly drizzle in the melted smart balance and mix very well.
Be sure to either line your mini cupcake pan, or spray each section very well, these suckers are tricky to get out. Fill each section with your crust mixture, then pack it along the side and bottom.

fill ’em

press ’em(ugh!)

Bake for only 2-3 minutes.

In a separate bowl, whisk egg whites, condensed milk, and pumpkin puree. Add in pumpkin pie spice and whey protein powder and mix very well. Slowly pour in the mixture into each little crust section, and bake for 15 minutes.
Allow to cool, or let it sit in the refrigerator over night.

Perfection!

Serve with a little bit of whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon, and enjoy this bite-sized indulgence!

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Pumpkin Pies

Tell me whatcha think!

