Bite-Sized Protein Treats

If you’re anything like me, you find yourself craving something sweet in between meals (or if you’re really like me, you have a hankering all flippin day long!)
You have two options – you can throw away your will power and grab those cookies in the break-room at work, or you can prepare some secretly healthy sweet treats to have on hand.

The key to keep in mind is to have something that is a good source of protein and complex carbohydrates to help keep you satisfied and hold you over until your next meal. Most importantly, we want this to be minimally processed and refined 🙂

After perusing through bodybuilding.com, which is becoming one of my favorite sites for ideas, I came across a bunch of snack recipes by Jamie Eason. Jamie is one of my favorite female fitness icons, she works hard to maintain an incredible figure. If you’re every curiious how to kick up your workout a notch or two, she has some killer workouts on bodybuilding.com, and she offers up fantastic clean dishes and dessert recipes….just like this one I tried and LOVED!

Rather than making it in a pan as a coffee cake / bread, I exercised some portion control for myself and co-workers, and made them into mini muffins.

The perfect companion for my mid-morning coffee :)

The perfect companion for my mid-morning coffee 🙂

I tweaked it the slightest bit, so here is exactly how I made mine:

Ingredients:
– 1/3 cup Splenda
-2 TBSP Cinnamon

– 1 1/2 C Oat flour
-2 Scoops Vanilla Whey Protein
-1/2 tsp salt
– 2 egg whites
– 1 C Silk Almond Milk (unsweetened)
-1/3 C applesauce (I didn’t have baby food)
-1/4 C CarbSmart Cinnamon Bun Yogurt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350-degrees

In a small bowl, mix together the splenda and cinnamon.
In two separate larger bowls, mix the dry ingredients and wet ingredients. Slowly add in the dry ingredients to the bowl with your wet mixture. Make sure you mix everything well.
Line a mini muffin pan with liners to help decrease the mess.
Pour a little bit of the batter into each liner. Make sure to fill no more than half of each shell, otherwise it could get quite messy!
Spoon in the cinnamon / Splenda mixture, then fill in the rest of the batter.
Top off each on with more cinnamon/Splenda. To make it fancy, you can use a toothpick to make little swirls 🙂
Bake for about 23-25 minutes, allow to cool and enjoy!
This recipe yields about 30 mini muffins

Now while that is very easy to make, here is another recipe I just tried out to bring in to work tomorrow for everyone to snack on: Protein Balls!
I have seen so many Instagram pictures of different recipes for these bad boys, and until this evening I never attempted to make any. I found this super easy recipe, from Six Pack for Girls’s site, which was relatively low and my mess-meter (I am NOTORIOUS for making the kitchen look like a disaster….)

This literally required  3 ingredients:

2 Scoops flavored whey powder (I used Vanilla Ice Cream)
1 C Gluten free oats
A TINY bit of water
Optional for making fun flavors: peanut butter, nuts, berries, unsweetened cocoa, coconut, etc.

All you actually need from this picture is the whey and oats, the other two are just for fun :)

All you actually need from this picture is the whey and oats, the other two are just for fun 🙂

Directions:
In a blender / food processor, mix the whey and oats together. Little by little add in some water (I only needed like 3 or 4 spoonfuls), and mix together until you get a dough-like consistently. Roll into balls and allow to chill in the fridge…that’s it!!
This yields about 20 protein balls (but that’s dependent upon the size you roll up!)

Plain vanilla, dark chocolate, blueberry, and peanut butter.

Plain vanilla, dark chocolate, blueberry, and peanut butter.

I decided to get creative, and mixed a few balls with plain unsalted peanut butter, for some I put a blueberry in the middle, and I rolled some in unsweetened cocoa powder.

Happy Snacking!! 🙂

One thought on “Bite-Sized Protein Treats

Tell me whatcha think!

